How to Start Coding?

How to Start Coding?

·

3 min read

I would like to answer this question particularly, especially because of my similar experiences. Before my college I was completely unaware of any word called C++, java or even programming. Now I am a Machine learning developer, and coding is now my hobby and stress reliever too. I will tell where I started from.

  1. If you are completely unaware of programming, you should learn C programming first. It will give you an idea of what programming is. Learn about compilers and interpreters, and get in line with terms like source code, interpreted code etc. Use a text editor and start with normal codes using operators, learn functions and their return types, learn about data types and data structures like what is an array, slowly increase your level to perform simple transformations on the array, like reversing it etc. Learn about pointers and try to do simple applications.

  2. If you want to be good at programming, you need to study data structures, their operations, which one to use where and algorithms of course. Think in terms of how fast and how using lesser memory your few lines can solve the problem, so learn and incorporate time complexity and space complexity. It will go out of your head at first but eventually, it will set in your mind.

  3. Learn java to start with any OOP, see how procedural and object-oriented programming differs. Learn how to perform Data structures operation without pointers. You will get introduced to many cool kinds of stuff like multithreading and exception handling. Again practice the same questions in java. I would suggest stick to one OOP in the beginning and be master at it, then go to any new languages like Python or Scala.

  4. When you will master one language, then start learning about java frameworks, collections and slowly learn about web services.

  5. Talking about resources, there are a lot available online. tutorialspoint.com

Tutorials - Javatpoint

java brains - YouTube

C Tutorial - Learn C - Cprogramming.com

way2java.com

I prefer reading from books, so here are some

Let us c by Yashwant kanetkar. test your C skills by Yashwant kanetkar data structures and algorithms by Reema thareja. Java by Herbert Schildt C by Herbert Schildt. Lastly, I would say I have read a lot of books all through my college life but I have realized that no knowledge is good for programming unless you code it. Unless you love debugging through your code trying what went wrong you can’t be good at it. So use this site, sign up and take a 30-day test and do the same problem in C and java both.

HackerRank

I will end with one of my kinda motivational quote” Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard”, so there is no replacement of trying and trying again. Do write back to me for any query.

Happy coding!!